Home Forums Piano Related Discussions Questions to Jaak Jaak as adviser for a single piece?

1 reply, 1 voice Last updated by  TeaTime 1 year, 9 months ago
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Paul
    Participant
    @Paul

I’m quite happy learning to play the piano on my own, but there are times when it would be extremely useful to have some advice from an expert. One such time is when I try to play something that is slightly more advanced than I am used to, which requires some skill I have not yet learned, or else has some kind of situation I have no experience with.

So it occurred to me that it might be possible for Jaak to set up a new kind of subscription model, in which he would act as an adviser in a very limited way for one single piece of music that the student is already familiar with. This is the complete opposite of an intense tutorial in which Jaak chooses the piece, starts at the very beginning and teaches everything about the piece in fine detail. Instead, this would be individual problem-solving and fine-tuning rather than a step by step tutorial for everyone. Because it should not require that much work by Jaak (=good for Jaak), it should mean that the price could be relatively affordable (=good for students).

What I’m imagining is a process that would probably take two or three months but have relatively few interactions:
    1. The student provides an initial email/video outlining the areas he/she is having trouble with. Jaak responds, probably with a short video (5 minutes) and an email, perhaps with exercises related to the problems and/or direct solutions/answers. Jaak may briefly mention parts of piece he thinks are very important to concentrate on, if the student hasn’t already referred to them.
    2. The student goes off for a few weeks and tries to implement the things Jaak has suggested.
    3. The student submits a video to Jaak, who responds. Perhaps there are new problem areas being discussed.